Review: Grandma’s Poetry Book by Di Castle

Now here is a book that will pull at your heartstrings.  Prepare to be tearful yet full of smiles and nodding in agreement throughout.

Here is my review of ‘Grandma’s Poetry Book’ by Di Castle.

IMG_0794

The inspiration behind this book was the birth of Di’s first grandchild.  It is Di’s first poetry collection, capturing the love and feelings for her grandchildren, set in a journey from their birth through to their teenage years.

Each poem tells a little story of the different milestones and thoughts along the way which all grandparents (and on looking parents) will recognise quickly and will have probably experienced.

A lot of the poems helped trigger lovely memories for me of Jack’s already incredible little journey.

Don’t get me wrong, I already value the love my parents have for my boy but, this book really made me sit up and think.  It helped me to better realise the feelings of a grandparent and its that which had me in tears.  It has definitely made me appreciate more the relationship shared between them.  He is a lucky boy for sure.

Some of my favourites:

‘Second Chances – Special Times’ describes how Di enjoys spending alone time with her grandchild and reminisces on her own children’s childhood…

“I can’t remember spending such magic hours as this, or getting such a thrill from a splodgy jammy kiss.

My babes are grown, their wings have flown.  Its as if they never were, as tiny and so very sweet – their childhood is a blur.”

‘By The Book’ just about sums up the first few weeks of parenthood for me, the baby brain and its struggles…

“I phone and ask ‘Now how are you?’, ‘We’re fine’, she says, ‘we’ve done a poo!’

‘But how are you?’ I ask again, my daughter’s really lost her brain.

Can’t do this, can’t do that, all day long, I’ve been sat.

Working like a milk machine! … and that last nappy was really green!”

‘The Photo Album’, ‘The Imposter’, ‘Babysitting’ and ‘Mirror Image’ are all fab too!  Honestly, I could probably list the whole book for striking a cord.

PicMonkey Collage1

The presentation of the book is really nice and includes brilliant illustrations by Denise Horn – whose sketches capture the special bond between grandparents and their families.

The book is quite rightly receiving great reviews of 4 and 5 stars and can be purchased direct at www.dicastle.co.uk or dcastle32@talktalk.net for £6.99.  It would make an ideal and gorgeous gift for any new grandparent.

I LOVED IT!

 

Di, thank you so much for allowing us to review your book. It truly is a joy and we wish you every success.

Lisa and The Captain x

*I was sent this book from Di Castle in exchange for my honest review.  I was not paid for this review.

 

Thank you for visiting our post. You can also find us here:

Bloglovin * Pinterest * Twitter * Facebook * Instagram * Google+

Some of our previous posts…

One thought on “Review: Grandma’s Poetry Book by Di Castle

Leave a Reply

