Guest Post by Five Little Doves

Today, we welcome Laura, a mummy blogger who join’s us with her Guest Post, Three Under Three.  Some people may call her mad for having 3 children under the age of 3 but I think she is nothing short of a Super Mum!  Thank you Laura for sharing your post with us.

Guest Blogger

My name is Laura, I’m 35, wife to Gaz and mummy to five very special children – Lewis, Eva, Megan, Harry (11, 3, 2, 1) and Joseph who, although was stillborn in 2006, remains a huge part of our family. I started my blog a few months ago having been suffering with chronic illness and needing something to keep my brain ticking! I love sharing the story of my five little doves, our journey so far and making memories as the children grow.

 IMG_5091b

Guest Post

Three Under Three

When I tell people that I have three children under three, they look at me in complete shock. I see them eyeing up the children, scratching their heads trying  to work out how it is even possible, asking me, “Are you sure the girls aren’t twins?!”.  Because surely nobody in their right mind plans a 15 month age gap between baby three and four, and a 12 month age gap between baby four and five, do they? Or maybe they do? But I most certainly did not.

I  never for one minute planned to have five children, and yet due to what is irrevocably known as The Epic Pill Fail, our bonus baby Harrison came along and we found ourselves with a newborn, a one year old and a two year old. And I wont lie to you, at times it was sheer hell.

Just think for a minute about a time when your baby screamed for twelve hours solid, when they went through sixteen nappies in one day, cried for constant attention, cuddles and refused to sleep. Think about the mountain of washing that one tiny little baby can miraculously produce, the state of your house, the baby sick down your top and the fact that you hadn’t showered in days. Remember how utterly exhausting it was, how you would have given just about anything for one hours sleep, how just the sight of your snoring husband made you want to commit first degree murder.  And then times that by three.

Every day was a blur of dirty nappies, sleepless nights and screaming in stereo. It was physically and mentally exhausting and the biggest test that our marriage, our family and our sanity had ever endured.  That first year was a massive learning curve, trying to work out the logistics of three under three and find new ways to get out and about with a small army in tow.

Just leaving the house was a mission in itself. Dressing three babies, trying to cram all of the paraphernalia for the three of them into just one bag, juggling them all into the car and then inevitably having to go back in to change at least one dirty nappy!

The pram situation was one of our biggest dilemmas. Should we shell out the £1000 on a super deluxe triple buggy? Invest in a buggy board? Or simply tell Eva that at just two years old, her time in the buggy was over and she would have to walk everywhere? In the end we used the double for the girls and a sling for Harry and I would trudge around the town with them all, laden down with babies, bags and moaning about my bad back.

The shopping situation completely threw me. The first time that I took all three of them shopping I realised that there was no such thing as a triple trolley and that gave me just two options. A, two in the trolley and one running wild or B, three in the trolley with nowhere to put my shopping! I actually went for option C, Order on-line and save a whole lot of stress!!

But the hardest thing for me was probably the guilt and the worry that with four children and only one mummy, there simply wasn’t enough of me to go around. I felt a huge amount of guilt that Megan had been ousted from her position of baby at just 12 months (and 4 days) old and that at just two years old Eva was now big sister of two. I felt very guilty that Harry had been born into a family where he would never have that one on one time with me for longer than five minutes, that even though he was completely and utterly dependent on me, I wouldn’t be able to just sit and cuddle him for hours on end like I had with Lewis and Eva. And I felt massively guilty that Lewis, who for eight years had been given all of our love and attention, suddenly had to share me with three much more dependent siblings.

In spite of all that, having a house full of children means that there is never a dull moment. Seeing their closeness, the way that they sit and play with their little blonde heads together, never fails to make me smile. When Meggy tells me that Eva is her best friend in the whole world, or Eva says that she loves Harrison bigger than a dinosaur, those are the moments that make it all worth while. I love that they will always have eachother, that they will never be lonely, that whether they are killing or kissing eachother, they will grow up together and hopefully be best friends as well as siblings.

Three under three, would I recommend it? No, probably not. Would I change it? Never in a million years.

fld
Connect with our Guest Blogger

Would you like to write a Guest Post?

If you fancy writing a guest post here at The Love Of A Captain Blog then we would love to have you.

All we ask is that your posts are related to the joys or stresses of parenting.  We don’t mind if your posts are funny, serious or cheeky as long as the words are your own and you are happy for them to be tweaked a little if necessary.

Visit our Guest Post page for more info.

Thanks, Lisa and The Captain x

Guest Post

Thank you for visiting us. You can also find us here:

Bloglovin * Pinterest * Twitter * Facebook * Instagram

5 thoughts on “Guest Post by Five Little Doves

  1. Haha I think it sends a shudder down my spine too when I look back!! God knows how we survived that first year but I can honestly say that it is getting easier. In a few more years it will be a breeze, just as my eldest hits the dreaded teenage years!! Aggghh!!! xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

