A whole new meaning to Christmas

A bit early to be writing a post about Christmas I hear you cry BUT Jack will only ever have one 1st Christmas and I plan on making it magical.  If that means that I need to start making plans in September, then so be it.  After all, there is only 100 days to go!

My childhood Christmases were amazing and to this day, I continue to absolutely love Christmas.  Every year, we would write a letter to Santa telling him how good we had been and provide him with a ‘What we want would like for Christmas’ list before visiting him at his Grotto.  The entire family would also go to a Pantomime for some ‘He’s behind you’ hilarities.

2010 - I was a little slimer then
2010 – I was a little slimer then

On Christmas morning, we would wake up to a sack of goodies on our bed and a stocking on the bed post.  An attempt I think for us not to wake mum and dad too early.  Christmas morning was possibly the only day that we didn’t wake up and head straight for the Advent Calendar, instead we’d jump all over mum and dad to alert them that Santa had been.  The living room would be full of flickering lights and FULL of gifts delivered personally by Santa that night.

The pressie pile last Christmas
The pressie pile last Christmas

Friends and family would pop in to see what he had delivered to us and then we’d sit down for dinner just in time for the Queens Speech.  The evenings would be all about family time, games, turkey sandwiches and yummy treats.

My mum and dad have always made Christmas a special time and I plan on carrying that forward for Jack.  Now it is our turn to create our own family traditions and Christmas will mean so much more now that Jack is here.

Last Christmas - ready to pop with Jack
Last Christmas – ready to pop with Jack

We have been discussing all the things we would like to do each year:

  1. Visit Santa and his Elves for that all important Christmas photo and annual catch-up.
  2. Visit a Pantomime or something ‘cool’ like Disney on Ice.  I’ve always fancied that.
  3. Visit the twinkling Coca-Cola Truck that tours the UK in the run up to Christmas.  Christmas doesn’t official start until you see the advert on TV, right?  Holidays are coming, holidays are coming…
  4. Visit Winter Wonderland at Hyde Park.  I’ve been a couple of times and it’s really quite something.
  5. Decorate the Tree as a family, with Christmas music turned up to the max and plenty of goodies to eat and drink.
  6. A letter from Santa.
  7. Make a ‘Christmas Eve Box’ full of goodies for Jack; Christmas PJs, hot chocolate, microwave popcorn, Christmas movie etc,
  8. Provide cookies and milk for Santa and his Reindeers.  Its the least we can do.
  9. Watch Santa’s sleigh (aka the ISS) shoot across the sky on Christmas Eve.  Here comes Santa!
  10. Awake the house with a little bell early on Christmas morning.  Could that really be Santa swooshing off into the distance?  So simple!
Our 1st Christmas together - Winter Wonderland
Our 1st Christmas together – Winter Wonderland

So Christmas is fast approaching and there is nothing you can do about it so drop the ‘bah-humbug’ attitude and get planning.  I shall make sure that the strain of the present shopping is done by the end of November so that we can enjoy our 1st family Christmas come December.  After all, it is only as special as you make it.

How do you make the Christmas season fun-filled?  What family traditions do you have?

Thank you for visiting our post. You can also find us here:

Bloglovin * Pinterest * Twitter * Facebook * Instagram

You can find some other posts here:

A Cornish Mum
13 thoughts on “A whole new meaning to Christmas

  1. I LOVE Christmas and I’m so excited for you that it’ll be Jack’s first one!!! He’ll probably be more interested in the boxes ha but it’s still amazing having a little one there for xmas makes it so much more special 🙂 Thanks for linking up to #TenThings lovely, read this ages ago and just realised I didn’t comment!!
    Stevie xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahh I love Christmas too! Each year we do Elf on the shelf and on Christmas eve when the elf leaves to go back to Father Christmas, he leaves behind a Christmas hamper. In it we put new Christmas pyjamas for all four children, small toys for the younger ones and a hot chocolate and Christmas mug for my eldest, and also a Christmas DVD which we then all settle down to watch before bed. We’ve done it for the last few years and it has become our little tradition, Christmas Eve is actually one of my favourite parts of Christmas. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Lisa, it’s not until you have kids that Christmas is actually the best day of the year, I’m exactly like you I love making it a magical time mainly because mine wasn’t that great tradition wise. I’ve just had my youngest so it will be his first Christmas too. But for my oldest I always do lots for him. A few years ago I discovered the elf on the shelf, this year would have been year number 4 but my he now knows that Santa isn’t real which I’m really gutted about and Callum’s a bit young for it all however, he still wants the elf to come this year anyway. He loves the treats lol. I suggest trying the elf on the shelf for jack when he’s around 3/4 if you’re up to it, it takes a lot of planning and work. It starts from Dec 1st til the 24th and you can involve all the usual traditions with it, writing a letter to Santa, surprise, pantomime visits, visiting Santa, Christmas Eve box and lots of other Christmas activities. Whenever I tell anyone around my way about this elf they think I’m off my head, but I don’t care my kid loves it and that’s all that matter to me, check it out! Jack will love it. Sorry for the long post x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Im definitely going to check out this elf of the shelf – sounds like fun! Im so excited its crazy, really hope we get to see the coca cola lorry!! Im exactly the same, Christmas is about Jack now and as long as he has fun that’s all that matters xx Thanks for your message xx

      Liked by 1 person

  4. We have decorating the tree, although I get too engrossed in it and sometimes get annoyed with it, not looking right, I’m obsessed with Christmas. We have milk and cookies for santa, with the cheeky can of fosters next to it, carrots for the reindeers and reindeer dust, a santa key! oooh you have just given me an idea for a blog post! hahahaha! This christmas will be our first one with a cat! We only got him in May. I’m already looking for cat stockings in the christmas aisles that B&Ms and Home Bargains already have out lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

