A Neurosurgeon, Pilot or Lawyer – What will your child be?

I cannot say that I enjoyed being at school, it was a difficult time for me.  I would always do my homework and do my best in the classroom yet never seemed to quite ‘get it’.  There was nothing I feared more than being asked a question by the teacher in front of class.

I struggled with the whole ‘chalkboard’ teaching method.  I’m someone who learns better by being more hands-on rather than learning from a text book.  In fact, I never read a book until a holiday in Turkey at the age of 28.  Usually, I would read the first page having not made any sense of what I had just read, get frustrated and give up.

I remember visiting a careers advisor at Secondary School.  It was a pointless exercise as I had no idea what I wanted to be when I left school.  I still don’t really know to this day.  I eventually signed up to Havering College to study Art having gained an A* in my GCSEs.  Although I struggled at school, my exam results were really quite good, including Bs & Cs in Double Science,  Maths and English.

Eastlea

A few days before starting college I was approached by a friend with an Office Junior position local to me in east London.  I saw pound signs (all £90 a week of them) and took the job.

A couple of job changes and a move to Slough later, I found myself in the working field of Facilities Management / Health and Safety.  I have been in that same field for 14 years and I have to say I love it.  It all happened out of luck really but I’m not convinced that it is my perfect job.  These days I am on maternity leave and I have a new job completely, the best one in the world.

Wk

This morning, I got myself thinking about what Jack might do when he is older.  What choices he might make at school and in his early career that will take him forth to fulfil his dreams?  A neurosurgeon, pilot or lawyer, all potential careers that a mum might wish for her child.  Although, would I mind if he like me, had no career vision and went on to a make-do job?  Its a tricky one.

I wont ask him anytime soon what he wants to be as he cannot yet talk, perhaps not when he is three either as he would probably suggest being Batman.  What I can do though is make sure that I give him all the opportunities available whilst he is growing up; choosing good schools, assisting with his school work and getting him involved in sport, music, travel etc so that he has a fighting chance when he comes to visit his careers advisor at school.

Most importantly, I will teach him early on about the true value of money and that he understands if he wants to fulfil his dreams and perhaps travel the world and have a lovely big home that he has to earn it.

Regardless of what he does want to be or what career he eventually chooses, I shall be there to support him every step of the way and I will be proud of him no matter what he does, unless he chooses a career in Arachnology.  Then I will have no choice but to suggest otherwise or potentially disown him *chuckles to self*.

If you fancy a chuckle, I’m the one in the yellow – you cannot miss me 😉

sch

Thank you for visiting our post. You can also find us here:

Bloglovin * Pinterest * Twitter * Facebook * Instagram

Or visit some of our other posts:

Mummy and Monkeys

Daysinbed.com

Best of Worst
26 thoughts on “A Neurosurgeon, Pilot or Lawyer – What will your child be?

  1. What a lovely post, it sounds like your little boy is going to have some great values when he grows up 🙂 I hope to teach mine the same, at the moment I’m fairly sure my son wants to be a rubbish man or an actual dinosaur haha, as long as he’s happy though I’m happy! Thanks for linking up to the #bestandworst and hope you’ll stop by again x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When I was at school, I changed my mind almost daily as to what I wanted to do for a career. I’ve done various jobs over the years, some better than others, but I’m still yet to find one that makes me think I would stay there for the rest of my working life! #bestandworst
    Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I never knew what I wanted to do either and my job (that I stayed in for 12 years) was also mostly through being at the right place at the right time and I worked my way up. Then I left to be a SAHM and at 34 I still don’t have a clue what I want to do. I do know that I don’t want to go back to doing what I was doing before.

    It’s a tough one isn’t it? Wondering what our children should be I mean and how best to support them. I guess when the time comes all we can do is guide them to aim for the best that they can be and trust their choices. I think the most important thing a person can strive to be is happy 🙂

    (Stopping by from #bestandworst linky).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Janine, thanks for visiting our post and for commenting 🙂
      Im 33 now and two months away from returning to work after maternity leave. We’ve decided that I will either work from home or do evening/weekend work as we don’t want Jack going into someone elses care until he can communicate with us. I definitely don’t want to go back to the job I was doing, it was too stressful. Love the field but my boss was pants. Its def not easy!
      Yep! all we can do is stand by our kids I suppose and let them conquer how they choose 🙂 xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I never really knew what I wanted to do either, mainly because I was rubbish at the subjects that lead to a career I quite fancied. At first I wanted to be a teacher, but I was rubbish at the core subjects (well, rubbish for my school anyway, I also got B’s and C’s) and I also realised I hated children, then I wanted to be a journalist, but I was rubbish at English, then I wanted to do something to do with the environment, but I hate the outdoors unless it’s sunny and dry haha. Then I just gave up trying to figure it out until I finished my A levels when I realised food tech was the only subject I liked and did well in, so decided to do something foodie and went in to the Hospitality industry, which I 100% completely loved.

    I realise that now I want Oliver to be able to do whatever he wants to do, so I want to give him opportunities to find himself, I don’t want him to get to 18 or 19 (I was much closer to 19) before figuring out what job he wants to do or what he enjoys. So my plan is to expose him to as many things as possible and instead of just telling him he’s not good enough at something I will encourage him and if possible give him the tools to succeed where he wants to succeed.

    Like

    1. haha – I bet all teachers hate children by the time the school bell rings after the first day! I so cannot cook – maybe you could teach me 🙂 Definitely the way to go, im going to do the same with Jack, I want him to try as much stuff as poss so he gets a ‘feel’ for most things. Im certainly not going to be a bossy mum though xxx

      Like

  5. Lovely post. I think the best thing you can do for your children is to offer them support and guidance, and teach them a good work ethic, I can imagine my girls having all sorts of amazing careers but at the end of the day it’s pretty much their choice.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m currently in the funk of doubting if I’m in the right career. My daughter 7 currently wants to be a doctor, an author or a fashion designer – I find it fascinating how she thinks about the future. #PositivelyPosted

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ah you look a hell of a lot better in your school pics than I did *shudders thinking about crispy perm* my teen has just announced he doesn’t want to go back and finish 2nd year of 6th form,he wants to find a job.Has no idea what though.I’m scared he will find it hard.I remember walking into a cafe at 15 and saying “can I have a job” and the guysaying “yeah go on then” can’t do that these days x #picknmix

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jobs were definitely easier to pick up when we left school and like you say, they aren’t anymore. I relocated home a few yrs ago and it took me 5months to get a new job and that was with bucket loads of experience! I was skint big time!
      Ah, love the thought of the crispy perm! I had one too. 🙂 I remember trimming my fringe at secondary school so high that it was halfway up my forehead then gelling it down because it was too short! haha – what a tit I looked! Cool at the time though, not! haha xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  8. A great post! My daughter wanted to be a lollipop lady and cross people over the road to get to school safely. lol We shall see what she wants to do in a few years! Teaching kids the true value of money and to work hard is really important, I agree. Thanks for linking up to #PositivelyPosted

    Angela xx

    Liked by 1 person

  9. We are home educating our 10 year old. We think this will give her the opportunity to do whatever she wants in life as she can focus on what subjects (maths, science and English have to be done) she wants to do in relation to her chosen occupation.

    #PicknMix

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

